Homemade Laundry Soap

Before I had my baby, I had a few days of no work and a little extra energy (because I was “nesting” as they say). I completely reorganized my kitchen and pantry, got everything ready for baby, and made laundry soap! I had been meaning to for quite some time before then, but I just hadn’t gotten around to doing it. But I am very glad that I got around to it because it is super easy, cheap, and healthy!

Laundry Soap

Just like other cleaning supplies, most store-bought laundry soaps contain chemicals and unnatural scents, most of which are not so good. Here you can find a list of toxic chemicals found in many laundry soaps and detergents. For this reason I had been using a more natural detergent from Costco which I was happy with, but it was certainly a lot more expensive than making it yourself.

When I was looking for a good recipe, I noticed that most of them called for borax, but I read somewhere that borax is a poison. This scared me, so I found a couple recipes that called for washing soda instead. Then about a month ago I read that some people actually eat borax and that it is not a poison, so I was so confused. I found this really good article that convinced me that it is not so bad, so now I do use it. You can find the borax article here. I like this article because it explains both sides pretty well, and the sources are pretty well cited. 

So anyways, the recipe I use is a combination of a few different ones that I found. The first time I made this, I did a smaller batch since I wasn’t sure how it would work. But it worked very well, so I made a huge batch. I haven’t had any problems with smelly laundry or anything. That was my main concern in making this myself – I didn’t trust that baking soda and salt could really do the job, especially when I am only putting 1 Tbs in the load (that’s right, one load = 1 Tbs!). But it really works so well!

Laundry Soap Recipe:

1 Load = 1 Tbs

3 cups Washing Soda or Borax

3 cups Baking Soda

1 cup Epsom Salt

2 x 5 oz bar Pure- Castile Soap (finely grated)

6-10 drops Essential Oil 

 

A note on the ingredients: 

Borax and Washing Soda can both be found in the cleaning aisle at the grocery store. I had to actually look for it the first time since I had never used it before, but it was there. They are both in cardboard boxes about the size of a cereal box. And they both cost $3 or so for a big box.

Dr Bronner’s Pure-Castile Soap is a natural, pure soap. This soap can be found at health food stores, or in the organic section of a regular grocery store. I really love this soap, and I trust the company. You can read about the company here. I wouldn’t use any other kind of soap. This soap is very high quality. It costs about $3.50 a bar. 

Essential Oils: I usually use lavender, lemon, or lime for the laundry soap. Lavender because it smells good, and the citrus oils because they are awesome at cleaning. Sometimes I add a little bit of lemon or lime oil (half a drop or a whole drop) to the load if it smells like mildew, and it has always worked wonderfully.

Adapted from:

http://wellnessmama.com/12217/homemade-dishwasher-detergent/

http://www.measuringflower.com/2013/03/laundry-soap/

http://www.notsomodern.com/2013/02/borax-free-powdered-laundry-detergent.html

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. rebecca
    Mar 20, 2014 @ 01:39:27

    I usually use Dr. Bonner’s Peppermint in my Laundry Soap. It just smells so cheery!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

