I Am Grateful to do Laundry

Woman-Doing-Laundry-Cartoon

“How much of life do we miss by waiting to see the rainbow before thanking God that there is rain?” – President Dieter F. Uchtdorf

This was my favorite quote from conference. Maybe because I feel like there has been a lot of rain in my life lately. And I need to learn to be happy through it.

This year so far has been pretty challenging. In February and March, Coleman worked really long hours at his job, so we didn’t get to see him much. And since I am still trying to adjust to being a stay-at-home-mom (and really a mom in general), this was really hard.

And I have been sort of an emotional rollercoster, and just going a little crazy. Then one of the nights that he was out of town, there was a sewage back up in our bathroom.  It was really gross. Thankfully my mom was over that night when it happened, so she was able to help me clear that out. But there was still something wrong with the pipes, because it leaked in the basement several more times. Then we found out a few weeks later that we had a mold problem behind the drywall in the basement, so I took little Rowen out of the house and lived with my parents for a week. And sometime around that time, Rowen decided that she doesn’t like to sleep very much at all, including at night. She was so good at taking naps during the day, and always slept at night (not through the night, but at least she was tired when she woke up). Anyways, so sleep went out the window. Then our washer broke…it’s just not much fun when all these things to happen in a row.

Every time I would feel down, I would try and think of how much worse other people had it. Some people don’t have amazing husbands like I do. Some people have to wash their laundry by hand. Some people don’t even have pipes or homes. Some people would love to be awake all night long, even several nights in a row just holding a cute little baby. So really, I’m very blessed.  I feel guilty because I know how good I have it, but I still feel like life is so hard and I can’t keep from crying…

Okay, back to the broken washer. Another blessing – because of family we didn’t have to do our laundry at a laundromat. My Mom was great, she did all our laundry for us, and delivered it back to our house folded. (And somehow it was still super hard to put it away!) Our washer was broken for a week or two before we were able to get a new one. When Coleman was still super busy at work it felt kind of impossible to get a new washer, so we waited till the weekend before the busy time ended to look for a replacement.

We were looking for a used washer. We’re trying to save all our money for a car (because our current car could die any second), so really we just needed a really good deal. We went to a store that sold used washers, but it smelled like smoke and they didn’t even have good prices. So that was a no-go. We called a guy who my parents suggested. He fixes up old washers and sells them, but we didn’t hear back from him. And we contacted at least two people on Craigslist but no replies from anyone. It was like no one wanted to sell us their washer. A week passed and Coleman was looking on Craigslist again and found a really nice looking washer and dryer set  (being sold together) for $175 that was just posted minutes earlier. We were trying to find a washer in the $150 range, so $25 more for a dryer was great. And we figured we could just sell our dryer. About an hour later, the guy calls us and said that three other people already contacted him about his ad, and basically it was first come first serve. So we hopped in the truck and drove up the highway.

The guy who was selling was really nice. He is an appliance delivery man and he basically inherits used appliances from his clients, he said he asks people if they want their old appliances (that still work fine) and they say “No, you can take it.” He told us the lady who he got the washer and dryer from had just visited her son and he had all new appliances, so she just decided to buy all new appliances for her house. So that’s why we got her perfectly working washer and dryer. The seller gave us a receipt and a 30-day warrenty. Kinda great for Craigslist!

Then the next morning, Coleman posted our dryer on Craigslist for $140, and by the afternoon it was sold. And a few days later he sold our broken washer for $30 (to a guy who repairs and resells them).

So pretty much we spent $5 on a nicer and newer washer/dryer set.

This made me feel pretty blessed. Coleman said it might be a blessing from paying our tithing, and he might be right. For me, this blessing reminded me that I am not forgotten. And that I am so blessed to be a stay-at-home mom, with a loving husband and a beautiful little girl.

So I will try to not look for the rainbow at the end. I’ll try to be more grateful for the rain that comes, and not worry about when it will go away.

 

Leave a Reply

